Amsterdamize


Good Neighbors
July 19, 2008, 7:39 pm
Filed under: amsterdamize, photos | Tags: , ,

I occasionally work/stay at Gabemac‘s appartment, and returning from Workcycles I spotted these good fellas enjoying their Grolsch beers on the sidewalk of Brederodestraat (where my friends Bicyclemark and Amy also live).

Good neighbours

On the left is John, on the right Ron(ald). I asked permission to take their picture, because of a Grolsch project I’m helping out with, but they invited me to stay and have a beer with them. Ron is the resident of the street and John’s a friend who came over to chill with him, something they do every week, when the weather allows it. It was a very fun conversation, Ron loved my bike, wanted to know about my blog and we exchanged information. Before leaving the scene, Ron invited me to come back tomorrow, when they continue, but with more people, sort of block party. I happily accepted. Good neighbors, even though they’re only ‘temporary’ ones.

This is Amsterdam, too.

(Oh, and you must have noted the parked bicycles in the background. Yeah, I can’t help myself.)

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

If you need a Grolsch pic, here’s evidence of Grolsch in America: http://flickr.com/photos/nwistheone/2637313223/

Comment by Nicholas

I recall making some serious pocket change off of Grolsch empties…sold the empty bottles at a yard sale for $1.50 each….we could buy the full ones for $.89 on sale LOL (this was back in the early 80’s) Only time I ever got paid for drinking ;-)

Aaron

Comment by 2whls3spds

Thanks, Nick, I will keep that pic just in case :)

Comment by amsterdamize

lol, actually, Ron told me that the Brits were especially fond of the ‘opener’, you know the iron, using them as substitute for shoe laces. He was not kidding. They were the hippest fashion statement in the UK during the 80’s. I said: “Man, I know the 80’s had some bad fashion, but this…”. :-)

Comment by amsterdamize




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

