Amsterdamize


Amsterdamize Bicycle Vlog #2: “I Can’t Slow Down”
June 25, 2008, 4:52 pm
Filed under: amsterdamize, my bike, video | Tags: , , , ,

No, I really can’t.

Other viewing/embedding options:

21 Comments so far
Leave a comment

totally loved this video. you are man possessed. Could call this clip the Flying Dutchman cuz you are stopping for NO-ONE!

got a great tour of your city, such a beautiful town. Recognised some of the places along the way.

But those roads are SO tiny, and there’s this crazy video dude weaving in and out of everyone. it’s utter chaos. Brilliant.

loved the shot from beneath the handlebars, very dynamic.

great work

Comment by adam mercado

hahaha, you’re right, I don’t, easier to anticipate, use that ‘eagle eye’ ;-). Thanks for the kind words!

Comment by amsterdamize

Dude that was a sweeeet vid. Almost made me cry.

Comment by gmac

Dude, you’re one big sob, you know that right? πŸ™‚

thanks, coming from the vid master himself, it means a lot.

Comment by amsterdamize

I love that video, being virtually biked around Amsterdam reminded me of the videos we used to watch as a child when in an amusement park, the ones that make you feel like you were in a rollercoaster or something like that. πŸ™‚

Maybe you could make a vid about my way to work. So I could watch it every day on my iPod when sitting in the bus… That’d make me feel less lazy! πŸ˜€

Comment by Pleitegeiger

the Historical Museum in Amsterdam used to have an exhibition where you could sit on a bike and virtually cycle through Amsterdam on a screen, using film from the beginning of the 20th century until now. So you would bike through Kalverstraat in 1937, 1956 and present time. It was great. I wish they would bring that back.

Dear, you’re tech savvy enough to create that yourself! Just get on and be bold! πŸ™‚

Comment by amsterdamize

I might be tech savvy enough… but I’m way too lazy to cycle to work… *blush*

Comment by Pleitegeiger

Que? Lazy? For what? For comfortably cruising? Even during summer? How can you forfeit to be your town’s Cycle Chic! Come on!

Comment by amsterdamize

*g* Most of the time, it doesn’t feel like comfortably cruising to me in Berlin. I’m always too busy with not getting hit by a car, a cab or a bus.
But alright, I promise… I’ll take my bike for a ride this Saturday! πŸ™‚

Comment by Pleitegeiger

hasn’t it become much better to cycle in Berlin, the last few years? Heard so many good stories..?

Good, I’m gonna check up on you then! πŸ™‚

Comment by amsterdamize

Well, I’ve only been living here for 3 1/2 years, so I can’t really compare it. But still, I always feel chased by cars when riding my bike πŸ™‚ Let’s say… Berlin isn’t as bike-friendly as Amsterdam seems to be!

BTW, does the pro have a good advice for a rookie like me, how to film with a tiny mobile while riding a bike? That ain’t easy!! πŸ˜‰

Comment by Pleitegeiger

alright, then you only need shed your paranoia πŸ™‚

It’s quite easy, just steer with one hand when you feel safe enough, hold the phone in the other, at lap height and try to keep it steady. Phone cameras are also good for shot-of-self scenes, just stretch your arm out, sideways for instance, while keeping your bearing, look where you’re going. Should turn out lovely. If that sounds to challenging, just play with it a bit, practice, delete, etc until you feel it’s suitable for publication (I know how you are with that, too :)). Curious how it will turn out!

PS: I guess I don’t have to feel sorry for you that Germany lost, right? πŸ™‚

Comment by amsterdamize

Hahaha. No, you don’t have to feel sorry for me at all. πŸ˜€

Alright… I can try that. But it might provide us a video of me falling off my bike while trying to use the brake πŸ˜‰
And yes, I still feel most comfortable behind the camera πŸ™‚ Some things never change…

Comment by Pleitegeiger

Really nice video, of course, great music even if I really enjoyed to hear you rambling in the other one before!!! Thank’s for showing me again the “girly bar on wheels”, it was really fun to see it a few times more!!! Please Pleitegeiger, don’t say your too lazy, I’m from MontrΓ©al and I don’t use cycle paths because there’s not enough, I need to get to A to B too. I’m a type 1 diabetic, I’m still young like you too, and I ride my bike everyday to go to work, so please, no excuses!!!

Comment by Manon

hahaha, alright Manon, I’ll make sure to mix it up accordingly, real live commentary and music. No problem πŸ™‚

And thanks for giving Pleitegeiger an inspiring kick in the butt, she doesn’t realize yet that cycling is therapeutic…(I know her rants) hehe

Comment by amsterdamize

Well, thank’s to you (I appreciated), you’ve shown us that everything can be done on a bike; transport, work, go to A to B passing by C, …, so to proove what I’m saying to Pleitegeiger I should send a video from my flat to my work place, eventually …

Comment by Manon

that’s great, Manon, please do! Be part of my little pet project, I already have one submission!

Comment by amsterdamize

ok, I’ll do my best to contribute to your little pet project, ha, ha, ha

Comment by manon

[…] Picture above by Amsterdamize. Enjoy this ramble on an Opa (stuck in third gear) through the city by Mindcaster. […]

Pingback by Velorution, London's urban cycle store

[…] how natural bikes and cycling are to the Dutch and I’ve showed you my real life perspective a few times […]

Pingback by Dutch Cycle Fun Au Natural « Amsterdamize

Nice music selection, it totally makes the video that much better though while it’s supposed to be uplifting it almost made me sad– perhaps because I’m in LA or perhaps because this blog is ‘no more’. I’m glad I discovered Amsterdamize and found this blog where you got started!

Comment by walkeaglerock




Leave a Reply

