Amsterdamize


Dutch Cycle Fun Au Natural
July 8, 2008, 2:19 pm
Filed under: amsterdamize, video | Tags: , , ,

I often talk about how natural bikes and cycling are to the Dutch and I’ve showed you my real life perspective a few times already.

Here’s what happens when three teens ride around town on one bike, not an uncommon scene in Amsterdam.

  • The boy is steering, one girl is on the handlebars, one girl on the back
  • All three take turns holding the camera
  • The girl on the back also takes turns pedaling 

It’s all in Dutch, but you’ll understand the fooling around vibe. The footage is messy, but not at all annoying, certainly entertaining. Enjoy.

Part 1

Part 2

[PS. Yes, you recognized the street from my last bicycle vlog.]

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Dear Amsterdamize – I don’t understand why all the posts on your blog just show your face, not street scenes and bicycles. I mean, you are a fine-looking fellow but I’d think pics of cyclists of all ages, backgrounds and walks of life on their cloggy bikes (or other variations) would be a better fit for your site.

Now whenever I’m in Amsterdam I’m in Indischebuurt, and it is wonderful to see the range of cultural backgrounds – and types of dress – that are cycling-friendly!

ciao from Montréal – not quite as cycling-friendly yet, but not bad for North America.

Comment by Maria Gatti

hi Maria, thanks for your comment. However, I think you got the wrong impression from my blog (besides the fact that these last videos are NOT of me, I’m hardly a teenager anymore): I DO show “pics of cyclists of all ages, backgrounds and walks of life on their cloggy bikes (or other variations)”. I’ve only shown myself once, in a bike video. I think you should check out the rest too in my post categories, such as photo, video and other post themes (you can find the whole category menu on the left side), exposing all that is cycleliciously chic about Amsterdam. I even started a series on the history of cycling in Amsterdam, called Amsterdamize Classics.

Indische Buurt is indeed diverse and nice, I used to live there myself. Now I live in Westerpark, not at all different, maybe even more dynamic.

I’m seeing all kinds of great bicycle-friendly (aka Amsterdamized) initiatives pop up in North-America, so I think we can hope for the best! 🙂

Comment by amsterdamize

What the heck is up with that first poster, I thought she was trying to be funny… if only she could see where the Amsterdamize now…

Comment by walkeaglerock

Hi there, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and
i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam
responses? If so how do you reduce it, any plugin or
anything you can advise? I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any help is very much appreciated.

Comment by sinproblemasconvecinos.com

For this reason, many view kitchen renovation as more than just a way to freshen up the look of their cooking area, but as a way to
expose our social habit to a new light. They
want to move the sink so the entire plumbing network has
to be moved and this really increases the costs by two
or more. A survey indicates that it may add a third to the price of a property.

Comment by Jake




Leave a Reply

